Monday, June 14, 2021

Join our email blast

Shade Tree Auto earns Community Champion Award

Posted October 27, 2014 in Community Web Exclusives, Grimes, Johnston, Urbandale, West Des Moines

The Celebrate Business and Economic Impact Awards will recognize central Iowa companies at a luncheon on Wednesday, Nov. 12, 2014, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown. Presented by the Greater Des Moines Partnership and the Des Moines Business Record, the Celebrate Business and Economic Impact awards promote the development of the Greater Des Moines business community by publicly recognizing innovative and enduring business initiatives.

Shade Tree Auto, located at 3450 S.E. Miehe Drive in Grimes and owned by Clint Dudley, will be honored with the Community Champion Award in the small division. The business provides automotive repair and services using computerized engine diagnostics. What started in Johnston in 2001 in a small garage grew to a new home in Grimes in 2005 in an expanded location. Shade Tree Auto continues its original mission of being able to repair anything, regardless of year, make or model, at reasonable prices.

Dudley holds a two-year degree in Automotive Technology and is an ASE certified Master Mechanic with specialty certifications in Advanced Engine Performance, Under-car, and Service Advisement.

Shade Tree Auto is a member of Grimes Chamber and Economic Development and the Better Business Bureau of Greater Iowa. Dudley is a past president of the Grimes Chamber also serves on DMACC’s Automotive Technology Advisory Board.

Other 2014 Celebrate Business Award winners include Hy-Vee, Inc. (Community Champion Award: Large); EcoEngineers (Best Kept Secret Award: Small); CDS Global (Best Kept Secret Award: Large); The ReWall Company (Innovation Award presented by Bridgestone); Holmes Murphy & Associates (Best Workplace for Young Professionals Award presented by Young Professionals Connection); and Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield (Life Long Learning Award presented by Simpson College).

The 2014 Economic Impact Award winners are Facebook, Produce Innovations, Norbert Dentressangle, LightEdge Solutions IP Pathways, Fidelity & Guaranty Life, and Dee Zee Inc.

Tickets for the luncheon are $30 per person or $250 for a table of 10.  Register online at

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *