Tuesday, June 15, 2021

Join our email blast

Civic Music Association opens 2014/15 Season with the Grammy® Award-winning ensemble, Los Angeles Guitar Quartet

Posted September 10, 2014 in Web Exclusives

(Des Moines, IA) Civic Music Association proudly presents Grammy® winner Los Angeles Guitar Quartet on Friday, September 26, 2014.  The classical ensemble is comprised of 4 individually acclaimed musicians, all on guitar; John Dearman, Matthew Greif, William Kanengiser, and Scott Tennant. A pre-concert talk by Aaron Powell from Heart of Iowa Classical Guitar Society will begin at 6:45 pm.

Los Angeles Guitar Quartet
Friday, September 26, 2014
Sheslow Auditorium, Drake University
6:45 pm talk  | 7:30 pm curtain

Los Angeles Guitar Quartet Masterclass
Friday, September 26, 2014
Sheslow Auditorium, Drake University
1:30 pm
Free and open to the public

As part of Civic Music Association’s Partners in Music Education Programs, the members of Los Angeles Guitar Quartet will conduct a Masterclass with Drake University guitar students, offering their expertise and guidance.  This program is free and open to the public.

Tickets ($48, $38, $28 and $18) to the concert can be purchased at Midwestix (http://www.midwestix.com) or by calling the Civic Music Association office at 515.280.4020. Discounts are available for students prior to the concert, or a $10 student rush ticket can be purchased the evening of the show (based on availability.)

For over three decades on the concert stage, the members of the Grammy® Award-winning Los Angeles Guitar Quartet have continually set the standard for expression and virtuosity among guitar ensembles, while perennially redefining themselves in their musical explorations. Popularly known as the LAGQ, the Los Angeles Guitar Quartet, is recognized as one of America’s premier instrumental ensembles. As one of the most charismatic groups performing today, their critically acclaimed transcriptions of concert masterworks provide a fresh look at the music of the past, while their interpretations of works from the contemporary and world-music realms continually break new ground.

For more information on Los Angeles Guitar Quartet, please visit www.lagq.com

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *