Tuesday, March 9, 2021

Join our email blast

Celebration of Iowa: Agriculture Art Award finalists selected

Posted August 02, 2013 in Web Exclusives

DES MOINES – Finalists have been selected for the second annual “Celebration of Iowa: Agriculture Art Award” presented by the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship (IDALS), the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs (DCA) and Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF).

The Celebration of Iowa: Agriculture Art Award is a juried art exhibition that recognizes Iowa artists and Iowa’s role as a global leader in agriculture through the 2013 exhibition theme, “Cultivating Change.” The exhibition features cash prizes in both a Youth Division (ages 17 and under) and an Adult Division (ages 18 and over).

Finalist, First, Second and Third Place awards in each division will be presented Aug. 13, 2013, at the Iowa State Fair prior to the Iowa Farm Bureau and Iowa Department of Agriculture presentation of Century and Heritage Farm Awards.

The submissions were evaluated by a panel of judges arranged by the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs. Eligible participants had to be Iowa residents working in 2D or 3D media. Original artwork was required. The artwork was judged on the innovation of concept and execution of exhibition theme and the aesthetic and technical quality of the work.

A list of this year’s finalists in the “Celebration of Iowa: Agriculture Art Award” Adult and Youth categories follows, listed by community, name and project title:


  • Boone: Robert Sturtz, Seeds of Change
  • Eldridge: Lori Miller, Grant’s View
  • Grundy Center: Grant Thye, Wind Farm
  • Monticello: Laura Larabee, Thunderhead Approaching
  • Pella: Brian Roberts, Autumn Elevator


  • Davenport: Tylor Moss, 16, Hay There
  • Fairfax: Allison Mosbeck, 16, The Light of Change
  • Ames: Adam Rice, 12, Moon Farm

The finalists’ artwork is on display at Café Baratta’s in the State Historical Museum of Iowa, 600 E. Locust Street in Des Moines, through Friday, Nov. 1, 2013.

The exhibition features $5,000 in cash prizes. The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation is sponsoring the following prizes:

Adult Division (18 years of age and older)

  • First Place: $1,500
  • Second Place: $1,000
  • Third Place: $750

Youth Division (17 years of age and under)

  • First Place: $1,000
  • Second Place: $500
  • Third Place: $250

Entries were received from artists representing 31 Iowa communities. For additional information, contact Veronica O’Hern, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, Iowa Arts Council Division, at veronica.ohern@iowa.gov.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *