Wednesday, April 14, 2021

Join our email blast

Governor Terry Branstad and Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds present arts scholarships to 5 Iowa students

Posted May 23, 2013 in Boone, Community Web Exclusives, Web Exclusives

DES MOINES – Governor Terry Branstad and Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds presented the 2013 Iowa Scholarship for the Arts awards to five Iowa high school seniors today during a ceremony at the State Capitol in Des Moines.

The Scholarship for the Arts is awarded annually to select Iowa high school students with a proven artistic ability in dance, literature, music, theater, traditional arts or visual arts who plan to attend an Iowa college or university during the next academic year and pursue a major in the arts. The students recognized today will receive $1,500 toward his or her 2013-2014 college tuition and related expenses as a full-time undergraduate at a fully accredited Iowa college or university with a major in one or more of the disciplines considered for the award.

“I would like to congratulate each of these students who are receiving the Iowa Scholarship for the Arts award today,” Governor Terry Branstad said. “This is a significant accomplishment and recognition of the excellence you have achieved in developing and refining your skills as students and artists.”

“A strong education in the arts not only stimulates creativity and helps students develop critical-thinking skills, it also lays the foundation for those who want to pursue the arts as a career,” Department of Cultural Affairs Director Mary Cownie said. “We are proud to support the talent of young Iowans by investing in their academic career and future in the arts. We wish them the best of luck as they continue their studies right here in Iowa.”

The Scholarship for the Arts award is administrated by the Iowa Arts Council, a division of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs. The list of this year’s recipients follows:

(High School)

Kayla Pierce
Gilbert High School
University of Iowa
English and Theatre

Betsy Guthrie
Maquoketa Valley Senior High School
Drake University

Iowa City
Luke Kottemann
Iowa City High School
University of Iowa
Music Composition and Engineering

Mason City
Caitlin Brainard
Mason City High School
University of Northern Iowa
Studio Art

Caylin Graham
Ogden High School
University of Northern Iowa
Studio Art

The Iowa Scholarship for the Arts was established in conjunction with a benefit concert by Iowa native and renowned opera singer Simon Estes for the state of Iowa’s Homecoming ’86 celebration. Two years later, the Iowa Arts Council established an endowment to guarantee perpetual funding of the program. Initial partners that contributed funds to establish the endowment included Two Rivers Arts Festival and Raccoon River Brewing Company in Des Moines, the Ameristar Casino in Council Bluffs, and private donations by Iowa Arts Council board members and private citizens.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *