Tuesday, June 15, 2021

Join our email blast

Youth Leadership Initiative Class of 2012-2013 Announced!

Posted August 30, 2012 in Web Exclusives

GREATER DES MOINES –  Greater Des Moines’ Youth Leadership Initiative (YLI) is pleased to announce the Class of  2012-2013.  YLI, a workforce development and education program of the Greater Des Moines Partnership, provides sophomore or junior high school students experiential mentoring and leadership experiences that enhance self-esteem and encourage involvement in all levels of community life.

The goals of the YLI program are:

EMPOWERING youth to connect, participate in change, and create their ideal community
ENCOURAGING youth to become active participants in their community
ENGAGING youth in opportunities to invest their futures in the Greater Des Moines area

The YLI Class of 2012-13 represents 12 public and private high schools from across Central Iowa.  The 37 students will meet twice monthly through May to explore topics on leadership while learning about the Greater Des Moines region.  Participation in the YLI program is tuition free.

About the Youth Leadership Initiative
YLI began as a project of the Greater Des Moines Leadership Institute’s Community Leadership class of 2001-2002.  YLI is now a program of the Partnership’s Regional Workforce Development and Education initiative.  Now in its tenth year of operation, YLI’s mission is to help local youth see a community that is welcoming, nurturing, and vital and which provides ample opportunity for youth to participate in meaningful community change, to network, and to grow as individuals. Since its inception, more than 280 students have successfully graduated from the program.

About the Greater Des Moines Partnership
The Partnership is the economic development organization serving Dallas, Jasper, Madison, Marshall, Polk and Warren Counties and over 4,700 business members from 24 regional Affiliate Chambers of Commerce.  The Partnership is united to drive economic growth with one voice, one mission, and as one region.

For more information, please visit www.youthleadershipdm.org or contact program director, Nathan Ritz, nritz@desmoinesmetro.com or (515) 286-4937.  Media inquiries should be directed to Susan Ramsey,
(515) 286-4954 or sramsey@desmoinesmetro.com.

Class of 2012-2013

First Last High School
Rachel Armstrong Roosevelt
Kyle Boulanger Waukee
Julian Castillo Winterset
Alexis Cole Roosevelt
Megan Cox Valley
Melissa Cross Dowling
Max Culbert Johnston
Sarah Cummings Carlisle
Shelby Daniels SE Polk
TJ Devine SE Polk
Shelby Dillavou SE Polk
Amber Gierstorf Dowling
Harrison Gudorf Dowling
Elena Hildebrandt Roosevelt
Allison Kacer Valley
Emily Kacer Valley
Marissa Kephart Carlisle
Katelyn Kozak Carlisle
Maria Lind Valley
Jasmine Luckett SE Polk
Austin McGee SE Polk
Parker Michel Dowling
Maddison Miller Lincoln
Hira Mustafa Valley
Sidney Patterson SE Polk
Cayla Rieck Ankeny
Paige Roberts SE Polk
Megan Siembieda Dowling
Andrew Slocum Roosevelt
Elli Smith Dowling
Madi Smith Waukee
Grant Taylor Waukee
Lynn Vong Urbandale
Zach Walker Johnston
Abby Wells SE Polk
Sneha Yamsani Waukee
Elijah Young Lincoln

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *